CompTIA Security Plus Mock Test Q1033

Which of the following can be implemented with multiple bit strength?

C. SHA-1
D. MD5
E. MD4

Correct Answer: A
Section: Cryptography

AES (a symmetric algorithm) uses key sizes of 128, 192, or 256 bits.

Incorrect Answers:
B: The Data Encryption Standard (DES) has been used since the mid-1970s. It was the primary standard used in government and industry until it was replaced by AES. It’s based on a
56-bit key and has several modes that offer security and integrity.
C: The Secure Hash Algorithm (SHA) was designed to ensure the integrity of a message. SHA is a one-way hash that provides a hash value that can be used with an encryption
protocol. This algorithm produces a 160-bit hash value. SHA-2 has several sizes: 224, 256, 334, and 512 bit.
D: The Message Digest Algorithm (MD) creates a hash value and uses a one-way hash. The hash value is used to help maintain integrity. There are several versions of MD; the most
common are MD5, MD4, and MD2. MD5 is the newest version of the algorithm. It produces a 128-bit hash, but the algorithm is more complex than its predecessors and offers greater
E: The MD4 Message-Digest Algorithm is a cryptographic hash function developed by Ronald Rivest in 1990. The digest length is 128 bits

Dulaney, Emmett and Chuck Eastton, CompTIA Security+ Study Guide, 6th Edition, Sybex, Indianapolis, 2014, pp. 250, 251, 255-256